How long is milk good past the sell by date?

The accepted rule of thumb is that if you're properly refrigerating it, your carton of whole milk's expiration date is five days after the "sell-by" date.

---

Milk is good for 5 days past the sell-by-date, but if it smells funky I'd be safe and throw it out. actions