Do dogs know they are not human?

Our knowledge of dog self awareness is not concrete, but studies have shown dogs do not think they are human, nor know they are canines. On the other hand, some humans feel that their dogs are their furry children & treat them as so. Either way, pet dogs should be considered part of the family.