Who was the throwin samoan?

Jack Thompson (born May 18, 1956), a professional American football quarterback, was known as "the Throwin' Samoan," - a nickname bestowed on him by The Spokesman-Review columnist Harry Missildine during Thompson's breakout sophomore season at Washington State University in 1976.