Where did the term mayday come from in a plane crash?

Frederick Stanley Mockford, officer-in-charge of radio at Croydon Airport, England, was asked to think of a distinctive distress call for airplanes. He came up with "Mayday, mayday, mayday," as it wasn't something which would otherwise be heard, and was also easily understood.