How long does it take to make the perfect soft boiled egg?

Get a pan and add water. Bring it to a rolling bubbling boil. Once boiling, add eggs straight from the refrigerator into the pot. Replace the lid and let it continue to boil for exactly six minutes. After six minutes, place the eggs in an ice water bath until they are cool enough to handle.