Why is it called cup of joe?

There are many theories, but the most compelling one, is that the word Joe is an abbreviation for two other early words for coffee, Java, or Jamoke.

---

Three ideas: 1. Secretary of the Navy in 1913, Josephus "Joe" Daniels, prohibited alcohol at sea leading to more coffee consumption. 2. It’s a shortened version of two other slang terms for coffee: java and jamoke. 3. Coffee is considered “a common man” drink and Joe is “a common man” name.