Is pizza sauce the same as marinara?

The ingredients are essentially the same. The main difference between pizza sauce and marinara sauce for pasta is that pizza sauce is not pre-cooked and pasta sauce from a jar is pre-cooked and ready to use. Another difference is that pizza sauce has a thicker consistency.