What is a pet scan?

A positron emission tomography (PET) scan is an imaging test that allows doctors to check for diseases in your body. The scan uses a special dye containing radioactive tracers. These tracers are either swallowed, inhaled, or injected into a vein in your arm depending on the body part being examined.