What are the different chess pieces?

The chess pieces are: pawn; rook; knight; bishop; queen and king.

---

Each side is comprised of 8 pawns, 2 knights, 2 bishops, 2 rooks, 1 queen, and 1 king. This totals 32 pieces on the board at the beginning of chess play.