What is the song how to save a life about?

It is about intervening into a friend's addiction. Being a recovering addict myself. It's about family and friends reaching out to you, hoping and praying you'll stop killing yourself, in fear that you would. The pain and anger in their eyes as they realize they had no impact at all.