How many different types of strokes are there?

There are two basic causes of strokes, or damage to the nerve tissue of the brain: a blood clot that blocks blood flow causing brain cells to die, or an aneurysm that bursts and allows blood to put pressure on the nerve tissue, again causing cell death.