Where did the southern accent come from?

Southern dialects originated mostly from a mix of immigrants from the British Isles, who moved to the American South in the 17th and 18th centuries.

---

Southern accents originated from the combined accents of the original European settlers. They were primarily from the British Isles, who moved to the south in the 17th and 18th centuries.