Why are you the shape of a hockey puck?

This question is OBE, overcome by events. The Echo hockey pucks, or Dots, were introduced in 2014. As of 2021, the Echo Dot has a bold new, spherical look that replaces the minimalist hockey puck design associated with previous versions.