Why are america's colors red white and blue?

In 1777 when the flag was created they had no official meaning, but later when the US seal was made, Charles Thomson, who helped design the Great Seal, reported to Congress that "White signifies purity and innocence. Red hardiness and valor and Blue... signifies vigilance, perseverance and justice."