Why does the porridge bird lay his egg in the air?

It is a common misconception that the porridge-bird lays its eggs in the air, when in fact it lays its eggs in small nests, built in the very tops of elm and oak trees. When the porridge-chicks hatch, the parents scour the countryside looking for porridge- and custard-trees.