What is sodium bicarbonate?

It is a chemical compound most commonly known as Baking soda

---

Sodium bicarbonate is a salt composed of a sodium cation (Na+) and a bicarbonate anion (HCO3−) Sodium bicarbonate (IUPAC name: sodium hydrogen carbonate), is also known as baking soda and has a chemical compound with the formula NaHCO3.