How did ivan the terrible get his name?

Ivan IV Vasilyevich, first czar of Russia (1547-1584), is commonly known as Ivan the Terrible, from an archaic mistranslation of the Russian, "Ivan Grozny", which really means "Ivan the Formidable". He acquired his name from the reign of terror he implemented against the hereditary aristocracy.