What's the difference between a pinto bean and a kidney bean?

Kidney and pinto beans have distinct tastes and textures. Despite their differences, they are interchangeable in recipes if you need to substitute one for another. Kidney beans are larger and red in color. Pinto beans are smaller but more plump-looking than kidney beans, and are lighter in color.