Who is roger williams of rhode island?

Roger Williams was a Puritan minister, theologian, and author, who founded Providence Plantations, which became the Colony of Rhode Island. He was a staunch advocate for religious freedom, separation of church and state, and fair dealings with the Indians, and he was one of the first abolitionists