Why is it called a ghost pepper?

The ghost pepper, also known as Bhut Jolokia, is one of the hottest peppers in the world. They originate in Northern India. Due to the fact that “bhut” means “ghost” in the Assam language, this pepper is often called the “ghost pepper,” in the Western world. Also, it is a fun name