What are diamonds made out of?

Diamonds are made of carbon, forming as carbon atoms under high temperature and pressure; these carbon atoms bond together to start growing crystals. Over many years they turn into diamonds. Geologists have been able to recreate this process in labs and are now able to expedite the growth process.