What kind of food do deer eat?

Deer foods can be classified as browse (leaves and twigs of woody plants), forbs (weeds), grasses, nuts, fruits and mushrooms. Each of these food items vary in availability, depending on the time of year and climatic conditions.

---

These mostly nocturnal grazers aren't too picky about the types of plants they feed on. Some staples of the white-tailed deer include grass, nuts, twigs, alfalfa, corn, fruit and fungi.