How do you lower alkalinity in a hot tub?

Total alkalinity should be kept at 80–120 ppm. To raise low alkalinity and stabilize your pH, use sodium bicarbonate over a period of time. To lower high alkalinity, you can use a pH reducer or muriatic acid.