Is your eyeball a muscle?

There are six extraocular muscles that move the globe (eyeball). These muscles are named the superior rectus, inferior rectus, lateral rectus, medial rectus, superior oblique, and inferior oblique. ... Adduction, or turning the eye inward toward the nose, is primarily done by the medial rectus.