Why do they call the blue moon?

A Blue Moon is a second full moon in a calendar month. This phrase has nothing to do with the actual color, although a visually blue moon may occur if particles (e.g. from volcanic eruptions or fires) in the atmosphere scatter red light.

---

Blue moon refers to two full moons in one month. It happens when there is a full moon on the first or second day of the month and since the moon phase cycle is approximately 29.5 days, there is a second full month before the end of the month.