Why did president nixon resign?

On July 27, 29, and 30, 1974, the Committee approved three articles of impeachment against Nixon stemming from the Watergate Break-in coverup. His political support completely eroded, Nixon resigned from office on August 9, 1974.

---

President Nixon resigned after an impeachment inquiry showed he had ordered a break-in at the national headquarters of the opposing political party.