When did south africa get it's independence?

South Africa gained its independence from Britian on May 31, 1961,

---

On May 31, 1910, four colonies were joined together to create the Union of South Africa, a self-governing Dominion in the British Empire. It wasn't until December, 1931 that the UK recognized South Africa as a free country though.