What does m. e. n. a. g. e. r. i. e. mean?

That word is menagerie. It means a collection of animals for exhibition, or a place where such animals are kept and shown. A zoo is one type of menagerie, but the word menagerie has more of a connotation of a private collection, while a zoo is open to the public