What are tears in fortnite?

Tiers: Increased through acquisition of Battle Stars. Earning 10 Battle Stars increases the Battle Pass tier by 1, to a maximum level of 100. Tiers can be purchased for 150 V-Bucks each, up to the maximum level of 100.