What are space animals?

Since the 1940s, a variety of animals have been sent into space including ants, cats, frogs, and even jellyfish. To date, these space animals include a total of 32 monkeys have flown in space. These species include rhesus macaques, squirrel monkeys and pig-tailed monkeys.