What is taxism?

Taxism is the directional movement of a motile organism in response to external stimuli such as light or touch. Taxism differs from tropism in that in taxism, the whole organism moves, whereas in tropism, the organism has a fixed root and only manages to move a part of itself in response to stimuli.