How many carrots are in a gold medal?

Each Olympic gold medal is made up of 210g of silver and is coated with 6g of 24 carat gold.

---

That depends. A gold bar or coin is typically 24 karat gold, while wedding bands are 10 karats and jewelry is typically 14 karats. Gold is a soft metal and so it is mixed down to strengthen it for everyday wearable use.