How long does it take to get a sunburn?

Sunburn can occur in less than 15 minutes, and in seconds when exposed to non-shielded welding arcs or other sources of intense ultraviolet light. After the exposure, skin may turn red in as little as 30 minutes but most oftentakes 2 to 6 hours.