Is it possible for dogs to be autistic?

Studies indicate that autism could very well occur in dogs. But, it’s important to acknowledge that until more research is done, reaching a definitive diagnosis in an individual dog is anything but straightforward. Our understanding of typical and atypical canine behavior is simply too limited.