What's a substitute for tonic water?

You can replace tonic water with other flavored clear, carbonated beverages. Store-bought lemon-lime soda is a comparable substitute for tonic water. Lemon-lime soda looks like tonic water, but is sweeter. If you find that it is too sweet for what you are making, try a diet or sugar-free variety.