How long do you cook how long do you boil corn for?

To cook six ears of corn on the cob, bring 4 qts of plain water to a rolling boil in a large pot. Take the pot off the heat, add the corn, and cover. Let it sit for 10-30 minutes. To eat, roll the cob on a stick of butter, then sprinkle with salt and pepper.