How long does it take for a geode to form?

As water flows through the geode, additional mineral layers are deposited in its hollow interior. Over thousands of years, these layers of minerals build crystals that eventually fill the cavity. How longit takes depends on the size of the geode the largest crystals can take a million years to grow.