What is winter grass?

Winter grass refers to a type of ryegrass that's used to overseed warm-season lawns. There are two types of winter grass used: annual ryegrass (Lolium multiflorum) and perennial ryegrass (Lolium perenne). ... This is the grass that's commonly planted on athletic fields in winter in warm regions.