Is kale considered a superfood?

“Dark green vegetables are powerhouses of nutrients,” she says. And yes—they call it a superfood for a reason. Cooked kale offers more iron per ounce than beef, says Julie Morris, author of Superfood Smoothies and frequent blender of kale.