What is the beacon of mercado?

The Beacon of Maracaibo, also known as Catatumbo lightning, is a phenomenon which takes place in Venezuela. Where the Catatumbo River meets Lake Maracaibo, the night sky is regularly illuminated for nine hours with thousands of flashes of naturally produced electricity.