Is the word then a conjunction?

Yes and no. The word "then," spelled T-H-E-N, has more than one meaning. When used to describe a sequence of events, it's not a conjunction; but when coupled with the word "if," "then" becomes a subordinating conjunction. When spelled T-H-A-N, "than" is never a conjunction.