Why was gatorade made?

Gatorade was developed in 1965 by researchers led by Dr. Robert Cade. It was originally made for the Gators at the U of Florida to replenish carbohydrates that the school's student-athletes burned & the combination of water and electrolytes that they lost in sweat during rigorous sports activities.