Where do sunchokes come from?

Sunchokes (Helianthus tuberosus), also known as Jerusalem artichokes, are root vegetables that are members of the sunflower family. This hardy perennial vegetable is native to eastern North America, where Native Americans cultivated it as a root crop before the Europeans arrived on the continent.