Why do trees float in minecraft?

Currently, the only blocks in Minecraft that are affected by gravity are Sand and Gravel, along with TNT blocks when ignited. All other blocks are not affected by gravity, and that is why tree trunks and other blocks can float mid-air in Minecraft!