Why are mealworms called mealworms?

The meal "worm" is actually one of the 4 life phases of the darkling beetle, scientific name: Tenebrio Molitor. We can loosely translate this as "the dark miller", because it loves to chew grains. The "worm" is the larval phase in the mealworm life cycle.