Where did beef stroganoff originate?

Beef Stroganoff is a popular Russian dish of small pieces of beef fillet sautéed in sour cream sauce together with onions and mushrooms. The dish was named after Count Alexander Grigorievich Stroganoff, who lived in the late 19th century in Odessa.