When do bird eggs hatch?

When a bird lays eggs, the incubation period varies quite considerably depending on the species. In most cases it can take anywhere from 10 to 30 days for the eggs to hatch. Before the eggs hatch the mother will spend most of their days sitting on the nest while the father provides her with food.

---

Most birds lay their eggs and hatch their chicks in spring when the weather warms up. In the warmer climates this will happen a little earlier in spring than in the colder areas. They will not breed until there is food for them and their chicks.