What's the difference between a tom atrist an ophthalmologist?

Optometrists examine eyes for both vision and health problems, and correct refractive errors by prescribing eyeglasses and contact lenses. Ophthalmologists are trained to perform eye exams, diagnose and treat disease, prescribe medications and perform eye surgery.