Why are the russians banned from the olympics?

On 9 December 2019, the World Anti-Doping Agency banned Russia from all international sport for 4 years, after it was found that data provided by the Russian Anti-Doping Agency had been manipulated by Russian authorities with a goal of protecting athletes involved in its state-sponsored doping plan