How many full moons are in a month?

A full moon occurs every 28 days. Most months have one full moon, but once a year two full moons occur in the same month. When that happens, the second full moon is called a blue moon.

---

the Moon is full every 29 and a half days, so practically, once a month

---

The modern day definition of a Blue Moon is when there are 2 Full Moons in one Month. A Full Moon occurs roughly every 29.5 days and on the rare occasions when the Full Moon falls at the very beginning of a month there is a good chance a Blue Moon will occur at the end of the month.

---

usually 1 Full Moon. So the only time one month can have two full moons is when the first full moon happens in the first few days of the month. This happens every two to three years, so these sorts of second moons are called Blue Moons. Hence the phrase "once in a blue moon".